Adapted 2 wheeler bike

I have finally finished the adaptations on a 2 wheeler.  The student’s left leg was going into abduction and would fall out to the side when he was pedalling. You could see that it was bothering him as he would hold onto his leg trying his best to hold it in place.  I added a “guard” made out of abs plastic and attached it to the back of the seat.  Because of rubbing when he was wearing shorts, I needed to add another piece of ABS with a flared edge which also extended a little further than the last one.  I also added a wide blue burfab strap to hold him around the upper torso and 2x 42″ velcro straps to wrap around his feet to keep them on the pedals.  So far, so good, we will continue to monitor him on the bike to make sure he is comfortable when using it.

About toydoctor

I design and build custom (and sometimes not so custom) adaptive equipment for children with physical and cognitive disabilities. I am passionate about what I do and needed to find a way to share it with the people I do it for.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

